Reviewed on this page:

Buckingham Nicks was the self-titled 1973 album recorded by the duo of Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks, a few short years before they attained mega-stardom as members of Fleetwood Mac. They didn't know it at the time, but Buckingham Nicks served as their audition tape for the Mac. In 1974, Fleetwood Mac's lineup was down to Mick Fleetwood and John and Christine McVie, and the trio were looking for replacements for ex-members Bob Welch and Bob Weston. When they came across the Buckingham Nicks recording and heard Lindsey's guitar playing, they knew right away that they wanted him in the band. After Fleetwood contacted him and asked him to join, he decided he would come aboard if his then-girlfriend Stevie did. The rest, as they say, is history. The reconstituted quintet soon recorded their self-titled 1975 album Fleetwood Mac, which outsold the band's previous records; their next album, 1977's Rumours, is one of the best-selling albums of all time.

The Buckingham Nicks album, as of this writing, has been out of print for many years, and has for obvious reasons become a much-sought-after collector's item. Why is it not available? Nicks and Buckingham jointly own the rights to it; Nicks wants it released on CD, but Buckingham, for whatever reason, does not. The album is certainly no embarrassment to him; Buckingham Nicks may not be a great album, but it isn't half-bad, either. Buckingham's guitar playing was always impressive, and this recording is no exception. Nicks' voice is likable and heartfelt here. The songs are more than a little interesting. The album includes the song "Crystal", which was re-done on the duo's first album with Fleetwood Mac. Some of the tunes (like "Don't Let Me Down Again") sound similar to the songs the duo would do with Fleetwood Mac; others (like "Lola (My Love)") sound quite different. Buckingham Nicks is a decent record, and a great curiosity piece for any Fleetwood Mac fan. (Note: the song "Long Distance Winner" is available on the Stevie Nicks box set Enchanted.)

Track Listing:

1. Crying in the Night
2. Stephanie
3. Without A Leg To Stand On
4. Crystal
5. Long Distance Winner
6. Don't Let Me Down Again
7. Django
8. Races Are Run
9. Lola (My Love)
10. Frozen Love